Olympian Gods

Roman Colosseum

'The Roman Colosseum'

Mythology, Facts and Information about Olympian Gods
The content of this article provides interesting history, facts and information about the Olympian Gods. The principal Roman gods were the Olympian gods. The names of the Twelve major Olympian gods were Jupiter, Juno, Minerva, Vesta, Ceres, Diana, Venus, Mars, Mercury, Neptune, Vulcan and Apollo.

According to Roman Mythology the Twelve Olympian gods gained their supremacy in the world of gods after Jupiter led his brothers to victory in war with the Titans. The Titans were the children of Earth and Heaven who sprang from Chaos, the mother of the Titans. The Titans consisted of six sons and six daughters, the one-hundred-armed giants (Hecatonchires) and the one-eyed giants, the Cyclopes.

The Mythology surrounding the Olympian Gods
According to mythology the home of the gods was on the summit of Mount Olympus, in Thessaly. A gate of clouds opened to permit the passage of the Roman gods to earth, and to receive the gods on their return. The Olympian gods had their separate dwellings but all, when summoned, went to the palace of Jupiter on Mount Olympus, as did also those deities whose usual abode was the earth, the sea or the underworld. It was also in the great hall of the palace of the Jupiter the king of the gods where the Olympian gods feasted each day on ambrosia and nectar, their food and drink. It was in the palace on Mount Olympus that the Olympian gods and goddesses discussed the affairs of heaven and earth. As they feasted upon their nectar, Apollo, the god of music, delighted the Roman gods with the tones of his lyre, to which the muses sang in responsive strains. When the sun was set, the Olympian gods retired to sleep in their respective dwellings on Mount Olympus.

Mount Olympus

Symbols of the Olympian Gods
Various symbols were associated with the Olympian Gods. The symbols of the Olympian gods related to symbols relating to animals, symbols relating to objects and symbols relating to the specific attributes of each of the Olympian gods. The following table details all of the symbols associated with the Olympians: Jupiter, Juno, Minerva, Vesta, Ceres, Diana, Venus, Mars, Mercury, Neptune, Vulcan and Apollo.

God of the sun, music, medicine and healing, archery and prophecy
Snake, laurel and hyacinth
The golden lyre

Goddess of Agriculture
Wheat seed
Cornucopia, the horn of plenty

Goddess of Hunting
Cypress tree

Goddess of Marriage
Cow and Peacock

Jupiter aka Jove:
The King of the Gods and the God of the sky
Eagle, bull, oak

God of War
Vulture, wolf
A bloody spear and sacred shields (ancilia)

Messenger of the Gods and Finance
Winged sandals, a winged hat and carried a magic wand.

Goddess of Wisdom
Owl, snake
Olive tree

God of the Sea
Bull, horse
The trident

Goddess of Love and Beauty
Doves, swans
The rose and the myrtle and a Seashell

Goddess of the Hearth, the Home and the Roman state
The sacred Eternal flame

God of Fire, the Forge and Blacksmiths
The forge and the anvil

Apollo the God of the Sun
Ceres the Earth Goddess
Diana the Goddess of the Moon
Jupiter the King of the Gods
Juno the Queen of the Gods
Mars the God of War
Mercury the Messenger of the Gods
Minerva the Goddess of Wisdom
Neptune the God of the Sea
Venus the Goddess of Love
Vesta the Goddess of the Home
Vulcan the God of Fire
Roman Colosseum
Roman Gods

Privacy Statement

Cookie Statement

2017 Siteseen Ltd